Chapter 3 – See Yourself for Who You Really Are

This chapter helps me understand the simplicity and yet the great battle in spiritual growth. I have experienced great power when I accept myself for who God says I am in Christ. My experience of joy grows and my influence in the lives of others deepens.

Oh, but I wish it were that simple? The world, Satan, and even my own thinking lead me to feelings of condemnation, abandonment, and powerlessness. That’s why I have to stay close to God’s Word. When I forget that God says I am accepted, forgiven, loved, and indwelt by the Holy Spirit (just to name a few) I am easy prey for the attacks of Satan. When I remember and believe what God says about me in the pressures and challenges of daily life, I experience victory!

This entire chapter resonates with me because for years in my early walk with Christ, I skimmed the great doctrinal passages of the New Testament. I was obsessed with discovering what God wanted me to do while ignoring the fouthe community at right right you will see it really is a& maybe only you that’s not for you and is selling it online though and we got it so this is the limit on coolndational truth of how God has equipped me to live. The result was great frustration in my life.

Passages like Romans 1-8, Ephesians 1-3, and Colossians 1-2 have given me a foundation on which to build my life. That foundation is the grace of God that has come through the death, burial, resurrection, ascension, and future coming of Jesus Christ.

I want to encourage you to master the truths in the list titled, “Since I am in Christ.” When you believe what God says, you will find incredible motivation and power that will help you grow in Christ, overcome sin, and love others! I’ve seen the power of what happens when people finally believe the truth of God’s Word. It impacts their marriage, their emotions, their parenting, and their influence on others. You can’t deeply love others, until you experience the boundless, unconditional love of God through Jesus Christ (Ephesians 3:14-21)

As you learn to live in God’s grace, your next step is to discover the power of speaking God’s grace into the lives of others:

 

Ephesians 4:29 (NASB95)
29 Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear.

The power of godly, loving words to encourage others is overwhelming. I find that it’s very easy to find what people are doing wrong, but it’s so much more powerful to help people discover their potential in Christ.

To stir your thought:

  • What are the thoughts and feelings that plague you when you sin against God? How do these thoughts and feelings hold you back from being restored to intimacy with God?
  • Choose three truths from the list of this chapter (since I am in Christ) that have hit you the hardest. How would your life change if you believed will God’s word says is true about you?
  • What change does God want to make in your speech (Ephesians 4:29)?
  • Who, specifically, does God want you to encourage this week? How are you going to do that?okay what to call

Leave a Reply

