Chapter 2 – The Whole Gospel

Do you want to find the motivation and power to say no to the things that constantly trip you up? Do you want to find the courage to make progress in your walk with Christ, your role as a husband, father, student, or worker? Then embrace who you are in Christ – learn to focus on it and meditate on the implications and you’ll discover a motivation that has eluded you.

It is not what you do as a Christian that determines who you are; it is who you are the determines what you do.” (VOTD – p 46)

The Gospel doesn’t simply forgive your sins, it gives you the righteousness of Jesus (2 Corinthians 5:17, 21). This is the basis for our growth as followers of Jesus. That’s why love the word, saint. More than 240 times, followers of Jesus are called saints. When you became a follower of Jesus, God set you apart for His purpose! The church is a collection of saints (people who have been set apart by God) and that’s why we collectively are called the body of Christ. We are here individually and corporately to finish the work that Jesus started when he came to this Earth.

Spend extra time with this second list of “who I am” in Christ that begins on p 51. Focus on the ones that help us see the work that God has for us to do. My personal favorite is 1 Peter 2:9-10. I’d like to hear your favorite and what it will mean as you embrace it in your life.

Are you beginning to see what it means that you have been set apart? Before you were a believer, you had no purpose other than something that you could make up for yourself. But now you are a child of God was been called to glorify God and represent him to others around you who don’t know him. You have the potential to make an eternal difference in the destiny of your friends, your neighbors, and your family. The more you embrace this, the more you’re to find the motivation and the power to say no to the things that are plaguing you and to say yes to the new life that Jesus Christ has for you.

To stir your thought:

  • What have you learned so far about who you are in Christ? How could you develop habits to remind yourself of these truths?
  • How could you encourage remind other believers with who they are in Christ?
  • What is the message that the enemy of your soul (Satan) gives you most often about yourself? How can you apply faith to overcome that message?

4 thoughts on “Chapter 2 – The Whole Gospel

  1. Wayne says:

    My favorite “I am” scripture is John 15:16 I am chosen and appointed by Christ to bear fruit.
    I am Celebrating Recovery over 25 years of alcohol addiction. And to even think that God would consider choosing me to bear fruit for His kingdom still brings tears to my eyes. I have been sober for 4 years and this book is helping me to understand who I am as a child of God.
    For the first time I don’t just see myself as a Christian because I go to church on Sunday, but as one who has been chosen by Christ to bear fruit.

  2. Brent says:

    Hey Wayne! Like I had talked to you about, I found chapter two to be much more engaging than one. But I’m sure the groundwork needed to be laid at the start. It’s great to hear about your journey and recovery and continued victory these past 4 years. I found the chapter very encouraging in that it reminds me that God views me more as the finished product than the starting product. It’s great to be reminded that the victory has already been won on the cross on our behalf. Satan’s already lost. His job now is to try and discourage us with lies and so forth so that we’ll forget this truth. If we see the battle as already won, then we might not be so afraid to fight.

  3. Steve Larson says:

    I love John 15:16 – It tells me that God has a purpose for my life and that is to let his character grow in me (fruit of the Spirit-Gal 5:16-25) and to make a difference in the lives of others. I’m excited, Wayne, about what you are seeing in God’s Word.

  4. Trey says:

    My favorite is 2 Cor 5: 17-22. The realization that I am an ambassador for my King, solely by the grace of God, is at the same time humbling and the greatest honor imaginable. It is also the reason I am participating in this study. To my shame, I have allowed the accusations of our enemy hold me back. I believed the lie that I still haven’t studied enough and am not righteous enough to be useful for God and his Kingdom, therefore my “time” would me sometime in the future. This passage makes it clear that in Christ the old has passed away and I am a new creation now (present tense). While our sanctification may be a process, we are useful for God’s purposes and service for his Kingdom the second we are re-born through faith in Christ.

Leave a Reply

